Say Jesus, A New Southern Gospel Album by Dave Adkins


May 2023 - Morning Glory Music proudly presents the new Southern Gospel album, Say, Jesus, by Grammy-nominated artist Dave Adkins. During his musical journey, Adkins has achieved success in both country and bluegrass music due to his trademark vocals and powerful delivery. Now thanks to continued fan requests, Adkins debuts this new Southern Gospel album that will undoubtedly touch your heart. 

This powerful and incredibly moving 11-track album includes original songs and Southern Gospel's most beloved songwriters like Gerald Crabb, who wrote/co-wrote four tunes, including "You Wouldn't Know Me Now." Adkins said, "Gerald and I spent a lot of time on the phone when I was getting this album together. In my younger days, I was too wild and too high, so this song hit home with me. My life completely changed after I met and married Katrina and she is the best thing that ever happened to me. This song means so much to me, and if you listen closely, you may hear me break down near the end. I hope the song touches people like it has touched me."

Rick Lang and Thomm Jutz wrote, "The Lord Will Provide." Lang said, "I was honored to have a song I wrote with Thomm on Dave's new Southern Gospel release. I have been a big fan of his singing as far as I can remember. Dave was a featured guest artist on two tracks from my last Gospel release, Gonna Sing, Gonna Shout.' Both were standouts!" That album received a 2020 Grammy Nomination for Best Roots Gospel Album.

"When we finished writing 'Not Even Dying,' we both knew it was a gospel song with a powerful message. It has found the perfect home with Dave Adkins. He brings the message to life, and we hope it touches a lot of people! We look forward to everyone hearing Dave's recording of 'Not Even Dying," said Mark "Brink" Brinkman and Paula Breedlove. 

Say Jesus tracks and writers include:

01        Matthew, Mark, Luke & John – Phillip David Ruff

02        Love on Jesus – Corey Lee Barker, Ava Paige, Tery W Wilkins 

03        The Devil Ran – Gerald Crabb

04        The Way That I Am – Gerald Crabb, Laura Leigh Jones, Ronnie Bowman 

05        Wings On Me – Gerald Crabb 

06        The Broken Ones  Carl Jackson, JB Rudd, Jerry Salley

07        Not Even Dying – Paula Breedlove, Mark Brinkman

08        Jesus – Dave Adkins, Tim McDonald

09        The Lord Will Provide – Rick Lang, Thomm Jutz

10        You Wouldn’t Know Me Know – Gerald Crabb 

11        Chain Breaker (Feat. Moriah Hinton) –Jonathan Lindley Smith, Mia Leanne Cherie Fieldes, Zach Williams

Musicians on Say Jesus include Dave Adkins on lead vocals; Seth Taylor on guitar; Nick Falk on drums; Tim McDonald on keyboards and piano; George Mason on violin; and Aaron Ramsey on bass. Harmony vocals are provided by Mike Slusher, Moriah Hinton, Alan Vest, Mark Hodges. The choir is comprised of Missy Delgado, Kate Delgado, Rhonda Mingus, Erica Windham, Mike Slusher, Moriah Hinton, and Alan Vest. Say Jesus was produced by Mark Hodges and Dave Adkins and mixed and mastered by Aaron Ramsey at Mountain Fever Studios in Willis, Va.


Leave a comment